Posted by: jacstar | November 21, 2008

The Becoming by Jeanne C. Stein

becomingThis is the first of the Anna Strong vampire series. Anna is a bounty hunter with her ex-football player David. While tracking down their newest skip, both are attacked and left for dead. David survives with nothing more than a concussion and some memory loss, while Anna slowly discovers her change. She’s ‘becoming’ a vampire.

It all goes down hill for Anna from here on in. First she’s pulled over by the cops for speeding. Then she’s almost attacked by a group of vampire-haters. Her house is burnt down and her partner is kidnapped.

This story has so many twists and turns, you don’t know who to trust, who is good, and who wants Anna dead. Your guess will likely be wrong. To be honest, I’m still not even sure who I can trust! There are things left unsolved, who plays Casper? Why is Anna the one? What will Culebra ask as a favour in return for his kindness? Will Max figure out what Anna really is? Will Anna move into Dr. Avery’s house? I can’t wait to read the next book in the series to find out the answers.

The flaw in this book for me was the use of the word vampire. It was used as both the singular and the plural, but it wasn’t consistent. If ‘vampire’ is plural then there should be no need for the word ‘vampires.’

Other than that, I found this book hard to put down! I had no idea it was about vampires either. It was recommended to me and it took me so long to find it in the book store due to the way it’s catalogued. The book is entitled The Becoming by Jeanne C. Stein but it’s in the catalogue as Becoming by Jeanne Stein. You would be surprised what a difference this makes. Once I found the book, I purchased it and got the heck out of the store. I didn’t read the back of the book, nor the front – I just started right at chapter one. So after the attack I was actually wondering what she would become and when I found out it was a vampire, I decided to read the cover. Sure enough, it says in big, bold letters “AN ANNA STRONG, VAMPIRE NOVEL”

How did I miss that?

Responses

  1. Yes, these front covers can be particularly deceiving… 😉

    Although the review makes the book sound as if it’s worth a read, I think I’m all vampire’d out at the minute.

    Now if there was a John Rain novel floating about…


Leave a Reply

Categories

