Posted by: jacstar | December 20, 2008

Love Starts With Elle by Rachel Hauck

love-elle1This is a novel about love and faith.

Elle Garvey is an art gallery owner and artist. She falls in love with Jeremiah Franklin, who is an ex-football pro turned Pastor. His career takes him to a new state, so he asks Elle to join him. She leaves her world behind in a huge leap of faith, but soon discovers that sometimes love cannot conquer all… or maybe it’s not the love she wanted. She finds herself back in her home town but starting from scratch. She has no business, no job, and no place to live.

Heath McCord is a single dad, recently widowed, living in New York with his daughter. Everything reminds him of his late wife so he needs an escape. Just to collect his bearings and get to know his little girl, he moves them both to a small cottage for six months.

The story goes back and forth between Elle and Heath as they restart their lives. Elle paints and Heath writes but even that isn’t easy. Life isn’t easy, but with faith, heart, and patience it can be exactly what you want. The story that Heath is writing is also told throughout the novel as well. Funny, that turns out to be a love story also.

At first, I felt that I couldn’t relate to any of the characters. It’s a world that I don’t really come from. This is a small town in South Carolina, it’s hot, sunny, friendly and cottage-like. Everyone knows everyone because they’ve all lived there for their whole lives. I, on the other hand, come from a big, cold city, I move every year, and right now I couldn’t even tell you what my neighbour’s name is – or what they look like for that matter.
But “Love Starts With Elle” is just so easy to get into, and after a while I felt as though I could relate to each and every one of them for different reasons.
They are determined and passionate and even though they don’t fully understand, they know in their hearts that everything happens for a reason.

It’s a religious story about trusting God’s plan. This story made me want to move to a small town, start my life over, and head to church to learn a few things. Rachel Hauck has a way of describing things that makes you feel whole. She breaks you down and builds you up. I felt all of Elle’s heartache and that made it all worth while when she finds her strength. I wanted to give Elle a high five and a huge hug by the end of the story.

This is definitely worth the read, especially if you feel lost or down on your luck.

Responses

  1. As you know, I’m neither a chick-lit lover or a “message” lover. But your review, and the fact you look at it from both a big city and small-town view, make me just a little curious.

  2. well be curious – it’s a good one lol

    and read, don’t forget to read 🙂

  3. Hey Jacki,

    Fabulous. Such an honest review. You captured the heart of what I wanted to communicate. Hope, and the ability to experience another “culture.”

    The south is very different from the north in some respects.

    I so appreciate your time to read and review. You made my week!

    Danny, I’m not a fan of message books either. But create a story where faith impacts the characters, you know?

    All of us have some kind of believe system and I make that a part of the characters journey.

    Blessings and Merry Christmas!!

    Rachel

  4. I’m glad you liked my review, Rachel – I look forward to reading more!


Leave a Reply

Categories

